One of my favorite Cookbooks

Hi Guys! How are you all doing? It’s the weekend, everyone, yay!! I don’t know about you guys, but the weekends are my favorite. Time to relax, blog, bake, cook, and just take a breather. This week I’m sharing one of my favorite cookbooks. This book is oneย of my most prized possessions and I read it all the time. (Just a note- the picture you see on my homepage are not of my recipes. Only the pictures in my blog are my photos and recipes, unless of course, it’s from one of my cookbooks.๐Ÿ™‚) ย I’ll also be sharing one recipe from my book so you don’t feel too disappointed .๐Ÿ˜€ So, without further ado, one of my favorite cookbooks! P.S. I’m planning on starting the first Ask Bern next week or so, so please tell what you dilemmas in the kitchen are. Also, if you want me to show you some more of my cookbooks and they’re recipes let me know!!๐Ÿ˜€

Better homes and Gardens Baking:

img_0261

The recipe I chose from this book is they’re spiced pumpkin doughnuts because it’s perfect for the season:

img_0270

Ingredients:

2 tbs. butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. ground ginger

1/8 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg

1/8 tsp. ground cloves

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

1/3 cup of buttermilk

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 cups of all purpose flour

vegetable oil for frying

1 recipe of spiced sugar (listed in the recipe)

Directions: In a large mixing bowl beat the butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add the sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, baking soda, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally.

Beat in the pumpkin, buttermilk, egg , egg yolk, and vanilla until combined. Using a wooden spoon, stir in the flour until well combined. Cover and chill for three hours.

On a lightly floured surface, roll dough to a 1/2 inch thickness. Cut with a floured 2 inch doughnut cutter, dipping cutter into flour between cuts. Reroll as nessasary.

Fry two or three doughnuts at at time, in deep hot oil (365 degrees) about 2-1/2 minutes or until golden, turning once. Using a slotted spoon, remove doughnuts from oil and drain on paper towels. Repeat with remaining doughnuts and doughnut holes. Coat warm doughnuts in spice sugar. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Spiced sugar:

In a small bowl, stir together 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tsp. ground cinnamon, and 1 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg, or 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg.

To store: Place leftover doughnuts and holes in an airtight container. Store at room temperature for up to 24 hours. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “One of my favorite Cookbooks

    1. Thanks! Please LOAD my comment section with all of your questions. And I feel you- at first baking was hard for me and i made many mistakes, but I learned from them and I love baking๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Welcome to the wonderful world of food blogging Bernadine! You’ll find a great group of friendly and helpful people out here in ‘internet-land’! Looking forward to seeing what you share – best of luck!
    Linda~
    Fabulous Fare Sisters

    Like

  2. Would you also like cookbook recommendations? I absolutely love James Morton’s Brilliant Bread and Pippa Middleton’s Celebrate. Everyone took the mickey out of the latter but in fact it is a lovely book and whoever came up with the recipes in it is a good cook.

    Like

Leave a Reply

