Mixed Berry Oatmeal

Hi everyone! Have you ever had a time where you just made some oatmeal, had leftovers in the fridge, and it just sat there uneaten? I know I’ve been there. I wanted to share this recipe because now whenever I have moments like this again, I feel excited to jazz up my oatmeal. This time, I made my leftover oatmeal with some mixed berries, a little bit of honey, and a squeeze of lemon. The great thing about this recipe is that you can use freshly cooked or refrigerated oatmeal.I hope you like this and please in the comment section below, tell me what your favorite oatmeal variations are and maybe some you’d like to see me make!

P.S. Guys, I’m starting the first Ask Bern sometime this or next week. The first topic is all things icing; how to make it, how to drizzle it, etc. So please let me know about any problems you have concerning icing or confectioners sugar or anything like that, and your question will be shown in the first ever Ask Bern. I’m so excited. Yay!πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

 

Mixed berry oatmeal recipe:

Ingredients:

one serving of oatmeal (I used the one from Quaker Oats)

1 tbs. honey

a smalll handful of assorted berries such as chopped up strawberries and blueberries

a small squeeze of lemon

1 tbs. of cream cheese frosting (I know it sounds crazy but the frosting gives the oatmeal a sweet/tangy flavor, so trust me, although adding this is totally optional)

sugar to taste, if desired

a small pinch of salt

a small capful of vanilla extract, or 1/8 tsp (optional)

1 tbs. of milk (only add this ingredient if your oatmeal was in the fridge. If your oatmeal has been cooking fresh, you don’t need the extra milk)

Directions: In a small pot, cook a one portion serving of oatmeal, or put your one portion serving into a small pot from the fridge. Turn your stove onto medium low heat and stir the oatmeal. Continue to cook on low heat while preparing the berries.

Chop a few strawberries and blueberries. (The great thing about this is that you can go crazy at this step by adding anything you want like dried fruit, raisins, etc.)

Add your berries to the pot and cook on low heat, Β stirring occasionally for about ten minutes, or until the berries pop and start to give a lovely aroma.

At this point, add your vanilla, lemon, sugar, honey, and salt.

Stir and cook for five more minutes on low heat to make sure your oatmeal doesn’t burn.

Take off the heat and serve.

Enjoy!πŸ˜€

 

 

15 thoughts on “Mixed Berry Oatmeal

  1. This is a good idea for me because my mom always makes oatmeal and we always have leftovers. needless to say, no one wants it after it sat in the fridge all night.πŸ˜‰ Thanks! I may just try it. ~Anne

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

