One of my favorite cookbooks( Red Velvet Mug Cake Edition)

Hello everyone, hope your all doing well. For this blog I decided to do another one of my favorite cookbooks because I really liked doing the first one. This recipe comes from the book Mug Cakes, by Leslie Bilderback. Now I know what you’re thinking: I want one of your recipes, Bernadine!!πŸ˜‘ But don’t worry- I’m just planning on what my next recipes toΒ show you guys, so hang tight!! For now, enjoy this red velvet mug cake! I love it because sometimes you don’t want to make a whole cake and frost it and all those steps, so this is perfect when you just want one serving if cake!! Enjoy!

img_0288

 

Red velvet mug cake recipe:

1 large egg

3 tbs. vegetable oil( I use canola oil)

1 tsp. of liquid red food coloring (5ml)

3 tbs. of buttermilk (75ml)

2 tsp. of pure vanilla extract (10ml)

1/4 cup of granulated sugar (50g)

2 tbs. of unsweetened cocoa powder (15g)

1/4 cup of self rising flour (30 g)

a pinch of kosher salt

1/4 tsp. of cider vinegar

 

Directions

In a large mug, whisk together the egg and oil with a fork. Stir in the food coloring, buttermilk, vanilla, and sugar. Add the cocoa, flour, salt, and vinegar. Beat the batter until smooth. Divide the batter between two mugs. Microwave separately for 1 and a half to 2 and a half minutes each until risen and firm.

Top with my recipe for delicious cream cheese frosting!

https://bernbakes.wordpress.com/2016/10/25/cream-cheese-frosting/

πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

( P.S.- I tried to convert this recipe into the metric unit as much as possible, but please  be mindful if i accidentally put the wrong measurement because im still learning. Here in the U.S., we dont use the metric system, so I tried my best for those of you who live outside of the U.S. Or use the metric system.☺️)

(P.P.S. The first Ask Bern will be Saturday, so please LOAD the comment section with all your baking questions! Ive received some of them, and if you asked, I will answer your question in Ask Bern. You can also email me your questions at my email which is bernadine325@gmail.com.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “One of my favorite cookbooks( Red Velvet Mug Cake Edition)

Leave a Reply

