The First Ever: Ask Bern!!

Hi Guys! I’m super excited to finally be posting the first ever Ask Bern! Thanks for asking me your questions. The way this works is I tell you who asked the question, then I answer it. Okay, here we go!! πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”

From A+B:

My chocolate chip cookies always turn out crunchy instead of chewy. What am I doing wrong? Am I leaving them in the oven too long? ~Anne

Answer: Hi Anne! I understand your dilemma because believe it or not I haven’t always made the perfect cookie.πŸ˜‰ I’d suggest a few things:

One: Β add more brown sugar than white sugar in your chocolate chip cookie recipe. This always makes cookies chewy and give a wonderful molasses flavor.

Two: Rotate your cookie sheet(s) halfway through baking time. This gives your cookies a chance at even baking.

Three: Put your cookies on the middle rack of your oven. This also helps with even baking.

Four: If this continues to happen, try reducing the baking time of your cookies by a minute or two to achieve a soft, chewy texture. Hope this helped!!πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

 

From: Simonette

Whenever I make bread rolls, my rolls are super hard (rock hard in fact) What am I doing wrong and how can I make soft bread rolls?

Answer: Hello Simonette! Bread rolls can be quite a task, but I have a few tips that may solve your problem:

One: Make sure your not adding in too much flour. This is one of the main causes of tough, hard rolls.

Two: Do NOT overmix. Otherwise, you could end up with a very tough roll.

Three: Make sure your oven temperature isn’t too high. This could cause the rolls to be dense at the bottom.

Four: Make sure you didn’t add too much flour or liquid. This could result in a dense roll.

Hope this helped!!πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

 

From: The Starter 1978:

How would you ice gingerbread? It’s something I’ve never done but I am planning to have a go this Christmas.

Hello, and thank you for your question! I would really iceΒ gingerbread four ways:

One: Add some icing to a spoon and drizzle it every witch way across the gingerbread.

Two: Spoon your icing over the top of the bread and spread it so it can drip over the sides.

Three: Use a piping bag (or a ziploc bag with a snipped corner) to pipe your icing on.

Four: (use a big bowl for this one!) With careful strength, take your gingerbread loaf and dip the whole thing head first into the icing bowl. It’s probably the easiest way to frost bread, but you MUST be careful while doing this- otherwise you could drop your bread into the bowl.

Hope this helped!😊😊

 

From Harriet day 98:

I always struggle with making Yorkshire puddings! I just can’t get them right! Have you got any tips?

Hello, Harriet! Thanks for your question! I’ve heard of Yorkshire pudding which is actually very different than a pudding cooked Β on a stove until creamy. Here are a few tips that may help you:

One: Make sure your ingredients are at room temperature. As with all baking, this may be best.

Two: Make sure your measurements are accurate, especially flour. I like to use the scoop and level method. This is where you over fill your measuring cup with flour, the level it off with a straight edge.

Three: Do not over mix the dry ingredients!

Four: Sift your dry ingredients.

Heres a simple recipe for Yorkshire pudding that I always follow:Β http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/yorkshire-pudding-recipe.html.

Hope this helped!πŸ€—πŸ€—

 

Thanks so much guys for all your questions!! It was so much fun answering all your questions, and I hope I helped. Please tell me in the comment section if you want me to do more of these, because I love hearing from you guys. Thank you!!πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “The First Ever: Ask Bern!!

Leave a Reply

