Banana Cinnamon Oatmeal

Hi guys! I’m glad you liked my recipe for mixed berry oatmeal so I decided to do another one. Usually when you hear the flavor cinnamon you pair it with apples, naturally. But for this serving of oatmeal, I jumped out if the box a little and did banana since I had some lying around. I really didn’t know that to expect from this : were the bananas going to turn to mush in the oatmeal? Or worse? I’m sure if you cooked the bananas with the oatmeal, that would happen. When I thought of this, I had to think of a way to add bananas without them turning to mush. So, I cooked my oatmeal and added the cinnamon, then took the oatmeal hot off the stove and added the bananas. This made the bananas soft and warm, without them being mushy. The heat fromthe oatmeal taken off the stove is what warms the bananas.ย So you see I’ve done the hard work for you- all that’s left for you is to make this and enjoy!๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

(I believe in my last post I told you that my blogging schedule was every Saturday. I decided that I will NOT have a schedule. I know it sounds crazy but I blog whenever inspiration strikes! (I will blog at least two or three times a month though).

 

img_0370

Banana cinnamon oatmeal:

Ingredients:

One serving portion of oatmeal (fresh or refrigerated)

1-2 tsps. cinnamon

one sliced banana

1 tbs. milk (only use this if your oatmeal was in the fridge; if it was being freshly cooked, it doesn’t need the extra liquid)

Directions:

If your oatmeal was being freshly cooked, add the cinnamon and stir it in right before taking it off the stove. Let cool while you prepeare your bananas.

If your oatmeal was in the fridge, reheat in a small saucepan with the milk to loosen it up. Cook until heated and smooth on medium low heat; it’ll take about ten minutes to reheat completely. Add the cinnamon and stir. Take off the heat and let cool while preparing the bananas.

Cut one banana into equal slices. (You can save some for garnish if you’d like)

Add the remaining bananas to the warm oatmeal and stir.

If desired, add the rest if your bananas to the top of your oatmeal as well as a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Enjoy!๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜Š

5 thoughts on “Banana Cinnamon Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

