Apple Pie With Lattice Crust

Hi Everyone! And to my American viewers and bloggers, HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!!! (I know Canadian thanksgiving happened already). I hope you all ate well and enjoyed time off with your families. (I know I didπŸ˜‹). Anyways, after eating turkey and stuffing and all the delicious food, you need room for dessert, right? So after long deliberation I decided to go with a classic apple pie this year.

I love this dessert and it is so good! I had a lot of fun making it and sharing it with my family. As for the lattice crust, it is MUCH easier than it looks to make. Trust me this is the FIRST time I have EVER tried a lattice crust. To learn how to make it, simply go to YouTube and search: lattice pie crust/Wilton, and you’ll find their video for three decorative pie crusts. I’m definitely making it again many more times. I hope you guys enjoy this as much as I did, and happy thanksgiving!

img_0510

img_0511img_0512img_0513

Apple Pie Recipe

Ingredients:

1 recipe for a double crust pie (I used store bought pie dough)

3/4 cup sugar (90g)

2 tbs. flour (15g)

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

a pinch of nutmeg

about 5-6 tart baking apples (I used Granny Smith Apples)

1 tbs. lemon juice

Milk (optional)

Sugar (optional)

 

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit (190 degrees Celsius).Β Roll out one of the pies doughs you are using, making sure it is long enough to fit your pie plate (mine is 9 inches by 5 inches). Wrap the dough around a rolling pin and then transfer it onto your pie plate. Fit the dough in carefully being sure not to stretch it. Set aside.

Peel, core and cut your apples relatively to the same size. Sprinkle with the lemon juice and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the 3/4 cup of sugar, the flour, the cinnamon, and the nutmeg. Add the apple slices and gently toss to combine with the sugar mixture. Transfer the apples to the pie plate and top with crust, making a lattice design or simply placing the other crust over. Fold over the excess crust. Crimp the edges of the crust or press it down with a fork.

Brush with milk and sprinkle with sugar if desired. Cover the edges of the pie with tin foil to prevent overbrowning.

Bake for 40 minutes; then take the foil off and bake for another 20 minutes or until the fruit is tender and bubbly. Cool on a wire rack. To serve, cool for at least half an hour, best one.

Store a covered pie at room temperature for 24 hours or in the fridge for two days.

Enjoy!! (Absolutely delicious with vanilla ice cream) πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

 

 

 

40 thoughts on “Apple Pie With Lattice Crust

  1. Wow that looks drool-worthy delicious! I don’t know how to bake or cook so I always think people who can have some kind magical powers in them πŸ˜„ Looking forward to more scrumptious recipes you’ll share!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

