Apple Upside Down Cake

Hey guys! This isn’t apart of my holiday countdown, but I made this today so I thought I should share it with you guys. I like this cake because you have the sour apples paired with the ย sweet caramel so it balances well. Hope you guys like this and I’ll be back tomorrow with another holiday recipe! ๐Ÿ˜Š

img_0559

 

Apple Upside Down Cake Recipe

Ingredients

APPLES
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened (60g)
1/2 cup light brown sugar (90g)
Pinch of salt
2 Granny Smith apples-peeled, cored and cut into 1/2-inch wedges

CAKE

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (180g)
1 cup sugar (200g)
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
2 large eggs, beaten
1/2 cup milk (120 ml)
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, melted (360g)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350ยฐ and line the bottom of a 9-inch cake pan with parchment paper, or spray with cooking grease. In a large bowl, blend the butter with the brown sugar and salt. Spread the mixture evenly in the lined cake pan. Arrange the apples wedges in the pan in 2 concentric circles.

In the same bowl, whisk the flour with the sugar, baking powder and salt. In a small bowl, mix the eggs with the milk and vanilla. Add the mixture to the dry ingredients along with the melted butter and whisk until smooth. Scrape the batter over the apples and spread evenly. Bake the cake in the lower third of the oven until golden and springy and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Transfer the pan to a rack and let cool for 30 minutes. Run the tip of a knife around the inside rim of the pan. Center a serving plate over the cake; carefully invert the the cake and plate. Remove the pan and peel off the parchment paper. Let the cake cool completely.

 

Vegan Substitutes

Use vegan butter in place of the butter

Use almond or soy milk in place of the milk

Use half a medium mashed banana in place of the egg

15 thoughts on “Apple Upside Down Cake

    1. Hmmm let me think. I don’t want to sound silly but vegan is no animal made products right? After you tell me, I’ll take a look at my recipe and let you know in a few minutes ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Yes no animal products – my husband was diagnosed type 2 diabetes. We learned a vegan diet might reverse it, and it did! We’re 6 months into it but all my deserts have been epic fails! Life without dessert is just sad!๐Ÿ˜

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ok, I totally feel you. I would hate a life without desserts. Hey you just gave me an idea ๐Ÿ’ก!!! I think you’ll like this one: from now on, I’ll try to put a vegan version because I understand that not everyone eats animal products. Evryone has a right to dessert!! So for my apple cake, I think for the eggs try 2/4 cup of applesauce. For the butter try a cup of veggie or canola oil, and for the milk, try almond milk, so milk, or even 1/2 cup of water. Hope this helps and remember to stop by my blog whenever I post for vegan solutions ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

