Vanilla Cake Recipe

Hello everyone!! Today I thought I’d share a delicious vanilla cake with you guys. This is a recipe from a fellow blogger, Little Sweet Baker. Go check her out:

http://www.littlesweetbaker.com/2014/04/26/vanilla-party-cake-with-strawberries-and-cream-filling/

IMG_2064.JPG

 

Vanilla Cake Recipe

 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (1 stick, or 230g) butter, softened

2 cups (240g) all purpose flour

1 cup (200g) granulated sugar

3 large eggs (room temperature)

1/2 tbs. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup (240ml) of milk, room temperature (I used 2 percent fat milk)

1 tbs. vanilla extract

 

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit (180 degrees Celsius) .

Grease or butter two 8 or 9 inch cake pans well.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. (I did this by hand but you could do this with a mixer as well).

Add the eggs one at a time, and mix until well combined, being sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Sift the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the wet in three additions, mixing until just combined.

Add the milk in three additions like with the flour mixture, and mix until the batter is smooth and well combined.

Divide the batter into the two pans and bake for anywhere between 30 and 40 minutes. The cake should be golden brown around the edges and when a skewer or knife is inserted into the cake, it shouldn’t have any wet batter.

 

 

Review:

I thought I should add a little review section to tell you guys what I think of this recipe. (All opinions are my own, and nothing is biased). Okay, so first off, I thought the cake was pretty sweet. Next time I’ll cut back on the sugar a bit. I also thought the cake was quite dense, and not light enough for me. But I do have to say that the cake itself was very moist and i liked the vanilla flavor. Over all, it was an okay cake. I’d give it a 3/5. 🙂

 

Vegan Options:

Replace the eggs with 1-1/2 medium masked bananas or 12 tbs. applesauce

Replace the butter with vegan butter

Replace the milk with any non dairy milk (ex. almond milk)

 

 

6 thoughts on “Vanilla Cake Recipe

Leave a Reply

